If you leave the scene of an accident in Georgia, the consequences can be significant. In fact, in some situations, leaving the scene of an accident can result in jail time. Therefore, as a driver in Georgia, it’s important that you understand the consequences of leaving the scene of an accident. Below is an overview of what can happen if you leave the scene of an accident in Georgia.
Collisions Involving Two Vehicles
In Georgia, it is illegal for a driver to leave the scene following a collision with another vehicle that results in vehicle damage or bodily injury. In this type of situation, a driver must remain at the scene and:
- provide his or her name, address, and registration to the other driver;
- show the other driver his or her license upon request;
- offer help to anyone injured in the accident, including providing transportation to the hospital if necessary; and
- call for help if someone involved in the accident appears to be seriously injured.
There are serious consequences for leaving the scene of an accident that results in vehicle damage or bodily injury. Penalties include:
- an automatic license suspension,
- a fine of up to $1000, and
- up to 12 months in jail.
Collisions with Parked Vehicles
It is also illegal in Georgia to leave the scene after colliding with a parked vehicle. A driver who hits an empty, parked vehicle in Georgia must provide his or her name and address to the vehicle’s owner. In addition, if the driver doesn’t own the vehicle involved in the accident, he or she must provide the owner’s information to the owner of the other vehicle as well. If the owner of the other vehicle cannot be located, the driver who caused the accident must leave a note in a conspicuous place on the parked vehicle containing this information.
A driver who fails to adhere to the above requirements after hitting a parked car may be charged with a misdemeanor. Since this crime doesn’t involve another driver, the penalties aren’t as severe as leaving the scene of an accident after hitting an occupied vehicle. However, they are by no means insignificant: this offense is punishable by up to 12 months in jail and a fine of up to $1000.
Contact a Georgia Criminal Defense Attorney
If you’ve been charged with a crime in Georgia, you need an experienced Georgia criminal defense attorney on your side. At Carter Pilgrim, our experienced and talented Georgia criminal defense attorneys will review your case and determine the best legal strategy for your Georgia criminal case. We have a strong reputation in Georgia for our success in both litigation and negotiations. Therefore, if you need the assistance of a criminal defense attorney in Georgia, please contact us as soon as possible to schedule an initial consultation.