Facing Your First DUI in Georgia

If you’re facing your first DUI charge in Georgia, you have every right to be concerned. Georgia treats DUI arrests seriously, and the consequences of a first DUI conviction can be severe. Even if you’ve never been arrested before, a first-time DUI conviction can result in fines, jail time, and other penalties. Therefore, following your first DUI arrest in Georgia, you should take every step necessary to have your charge reduced or dismissed. The best way to fight your first DUI charge in Georgia is to hire an experienced Georgia DUI attorney. Below is an overview of the potential consequences of your first DUI in Georgia. 


Criminal Penalties


Some people make the mistake of failing to take a first DUI charge in Georgia seriously. This is a big mistake. A first DUI conviction in Georgia is a misdemeanor that carries many potential penalties. Therefore, if you’re facing a DUI charge in Georgia, it is in your best interest to contact a Georgia DUI attorney as soon as possible. If convicted of a first DUI in Georgia, you face the following penalties:

  • Up to one year in jail,
  • A fine of up to $1000,
  • Up to 40 hours of community service, 
  • Mandatory clinical evaluation for alcohol dependency, and
  • Completion of a drug or alcohol treatment program for substance abuse at your own expense.

In addition, most first-time DUI offenders are placed on probation for at least 12 months, which means that any violation of the law during this time will result in additional sentencing. However, the criminal penalties associated with a first DUI conviction in Georgia are not the only consequences you may face. 


Administrative Penalties


In addition to criminal penalties, a first DUI conviction in Georgia can result in administrative penalties. The most damaging administrative penalty resulting from a DUI conviction in Georgia is the suspension of one’s license for a period of one year. If your license is suspended, this can clearly affect your ability to travel to and from work, attend mandatory appointments, and conduct other important activities. In addition, a driver whose license is suspended due to a DUI conviction isn’t eligible for license reinstatement for at least 90 days from the date of suspension. And to make matters worse, there is a fee required for reinstatement. A driver may request an administrative hearing to fight this suspension within 30 days of arrest, but this requires additional time, money, and energy. In other words, there is simply too much on the line to not fight your first DUI charge in Georgia. 

Contact a Georgia DUI Attorney 

If you are facing your first DUI charge, you need an experienced Georgia DUI attorney on your side. At Carter Pilgrim, our talented DUI attorneys have a long track record of litigation and negotiation success. Whether we’re in the courtroom or at the negotiation table, we’ll do everything in our power to ensure that your DUI charge is dismissed or reduced. Therefore, if you’ve been charged with DUI in Georgia, please contact us for a consultation today.

0/5 (0 Reviews)

Our Service Area

We are located in Suwanee Georgia, but we defend clients throughout Gwinnett County, Forsyth County, Hall County, Barrow County, Jackson County, and Dawson County.  Contact our Atlanta law firm as soon as possible to learn how we advocate for your best interests.

Carter Pilgrim
Attorneys at Law

3725 Lawrenceville-Suwanee Rd, Suite A-4
Suwanee, GA 30024

Phone: Call our office 770-945-2320

Follow Us