Hall County is a county located in North Central Georgia. Centered around Gainesville, Georgia, with a population that only recently surpassed 200,000, many residents enjoy the small city feel of living in Hall County. Located in the upper Piedmont region of the state, Hall County residents enjoy proximity to the stunning Blue Ridge Mountains to the North. The eastern part of Hall County is in the Altamaha River basin. The western half of the county is in the famous Chattahoochee River sub-basin.
Hall County has seen an increase in population in recent years, bringing about an increase in family housing developments, active-adult communities, and retirement communities. Hall County has also experienced a growth in white-collar jobs near Sugarloaf Parkway. Many new Hall County residents enjoy the feel of a small city with the amenities of a larger city. Gainesville-Hall County ranked third for best performing small cities in 2017 and 2018. Once thought of as a rural Georgia community, Hall County has become a flourishing North Georgia community.
Hall County DUI Defense
At Carter/Pilgrim, our experienced attorneys take pride in living and working in Hall County, Georgia. Our highly sought-after Suwanee, Georgia law firm has a proven track record of legal success. Our lawyers keep up to date on any changes on state and local driving under the influence (DUI) laws so we can best represent our clients. We understand that good, responsible people sometimes make mistakes and end up with a DUI charge. Our legal team understands that a DUI charge in Hall County can happen to anyone.
What Constitutes a DUI?
In Hall County, Georgia, the legal limit for blood alcohol concentration is .08 percent if you are an adult over age 21. For those under 21, the legal limit for blood alcohol content (BAC) is .02 percent. In Hall County, law enforcement can prove a violation of Georgia DUI laws in two different ways. First, a law enforcement officer can prove that you are under the influence of drugs or alcohol through a field sobriety test and observation.
Second, law enforcement can prove a DUI “Per Se” with chemical blood, breath, or urine analysis. When the suspect’s test reveals that he or she has a .08 percent BAC or higher, the suspect will face DUI “Per Se” charges. Law enforcement officers must meet rigid requirements for chemical blood alcohol content testing. When law enforcement officers or testing facilities make errors or do not protect a suspect’s constitutional rights, the court will throw out the evidence.
Penalties for a DUI Conviction
Penalties for a first-time DUI conviction in Hall County include probation, up to $1,000 in fines, loss of license, mandatory driving safety classes, and up to one year of jail time. Any of these consequences can have a severely negative impact on your life. Even if you only receive a punishment of community service, you will need to take time off of work and arrange transportation.
If you’re convicted of a 2nd DUI charge or a 3rd DUI charge, you will receive even harsher penalties. Those convicted of a subsequent DUI can lose their license for 3 to 5 years. When the court finally reinstates their driver’s license, they may be required to install an ignition interlock device on the vehicle.
Those convicted of subsequent DUI charges will also face prison sentences of over a year as well as high fines, community service, probation, and mandatory drug or alcohol treatment. Additionally, those convicted of a DUI in Hall County will experience an increase in insurance costs. The DUI convictions will stay on the defendant’s record permanently and could negatively affect their job, work, and housing applications.
Appealing a License Suspension for a DUI in Hall County
Has a court suspended your license as a result of a DUI charge? If so, you have probably suffered many negative consequences. Every person arrested for a DUI in Georgia has a right to appeal the suspension of their driver’s license. Defendants must submit a letter within 30 days to request an administrative license suspension hearing.
At the hearing, one of our experienced Cater/Pilgrim lawyers will fight to save your right to keep your driver’s license. Unless you request a hearing, you will not be able to save your driver’s license if you refuse to submit to testing.
Defenses to DUI Charges in Hall County
Many people facing a DUI charge in Hall County have never been arrested before. Even first-time DUI convictions can have serious negative consequences. First-time offenders can face jail time, high fees and fines, and probation. At Carter/Pilgrim, we have extensive experience representing clients in Hall County DUI charges. After evaluating the circumstances in your case, we can help you create a compelling DUI defense strategy.
Every Hall County DUI case is unique and requires a unique set of defenses. After reviewing the facts of your individual situation, our legal team will begin to build your DUI defense. The sooner you call our law firm to schedule your initial consultation, the better. The following are common defenses to DUI charges in Hall County:
- The law enforcement officer didn’t have a valid reason to stop your vehicle
- The law enforcement officer didn’t follow procedure during a DUI roadblock
- The law enforcement officer racially profiled the suspect during the stop
- The law enforcement officer didn’t advise the suspect of consent rights regarding testing
- The law enforcement officer searched the vehicle without probable cause
- The breath test Intox 5000 machine did not work properly
- The officer did not have the proper training to use the breath test machine
- The officer did not receive the appropriate training to make DUI arrests
- There is a broken chain of custody for the urine or blood test
- The driver appeared impaired because of the stress or injuries caused by the accident
Contact Our Hall County DUI Defense Lawyers Today
If you or your loved one are facing DUI charges in Hall County, Carter/Pilgrim can help. Contact us today to schedule your initial consultation and learn how we can fight for your rights.